2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (2023)

NS

NORBERT S.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (1) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (2)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (3)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (4)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (5)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (6)

09/16/2022

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (7)Verified Review

LONGEVITY

I bought the Camry XLE in 2015 with 237K miles. Did no major repairs until 2021 which replacing the radiator and brakes system due to rust corrosion. Also replaced rear ABS wheel speed sensor wire bundle due to broken wires turning on the dash warning lights. Today 2022 miles is 273K. Normal ware & tare with tire purchase’s and some rust on the right rocker panel and lower carriage due to Wisconsin road salt corrosion. Oil is changed every 3K and there’s no oil or fluid leaks. Comfortable car to drive with no engine or transmission problems. Average fuel consumption is 21 mpg. One of my favorite cars I’ve owned. I would like to try the Toyota Avalon as my next car because it’s built on a Lexus platform, which is supposed to be better than the Camry platform. It would have to be an Alabama car, because a 20 year old car still looks like it came from the show room floor. The northern rust belt will consume a vehicle in 20 years

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

MY

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (8)

Marty Y.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (9) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (10)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (11)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (12)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (13)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (14)

01/27/2022

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (15)Verified Review

2005 Toyota Camry XLE

I bought this vehicle brand new at Tom O’Briens Toyota.I bought my dream car, a Jaguar S-Type, in 2000, that I traded in because I had nothing but problems including electrical issues, and eventually transmission replacement at 50,000 miles. I chose the Toyota because of their reputation as being RELIABLE! I have not been disappointed. This car has out preformed every other car I’ve had! All I’ve needed is basic service and maintenance. I did as recommended at 100,000 miles and had the timing belt replaced. At this point in time, this will be-the last car I own!!!

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

LJ

lecar j.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (16) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (17)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (18)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (19)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (20)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (21)

01/17/2022

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (22)Verified Review

I absolutely love my car very reliable runs very good I love it

I bought my car from a one owner driver he was very honest he took good care of this car I am 18th yrs my first car I am enjoying it...the employee at rpm gave good advice on getting the best car for a teenager

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

DK

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (23)

David N K.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (24) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (25)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (26)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (27)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (28)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (29)

09/05/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (30)Verified Review

Most reliable vehicle ever owned

With 188,000 miles and no major repairs except replacement of worn out front struts, this 2005 Toyota Camry is the best car I ever owned. Excellent visibility all around, comfortable seats including rear seats, and plenty of space for hauling suitcases. Front and rear bumpers provide good body protection for parallel parking,

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

    (Video) Toyota Camry Headlight and Fender replacement! - 2003

TG

TOM G.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (31) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (32)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (33)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (34)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (35)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (36)

08/29/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (37)Verified Review

Nice car, but engine doesn't start, burns oil

Great first car, but burns oil. A problem that Toyota knows about, but didn't really fix. Another then that great car, very spacious. Good auto system. Full size spare tire, body doesn't have almost any rust

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

BC

Buddy C.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (38) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (39)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (40)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (41)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (42)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (43)

08/28/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (44)Verified Review

Amazing reliability.

My Camry has 450,000 miles on it and is still running on almost 100% of the original parts. I feel that with regular oil changes these cars run forever. My wife always asks when I’m going to get rid of it. I just say it still runs like the day I bought it so why change. The paint does fade and I’ve painted it twice but that’s a small price to pay. 2 years ago I lost control on I4 and skidded into a mud filled ditch. We towed it out, hosed it off, and continued on our trip like nothing happened. This is the best car I’ve ever had. When it finally does die I will for sure replace it with another Camry.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

PT

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (45)

PAUL T.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (46) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (47)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (48)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (49)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (50)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (51)

08/10/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (52)Verified Review

Fifteen years of reliability!

It's a good looking and very reliable car! The Camry got 33 mpg on the highway when we drove to visit my mother in Arkansas. I have the car serviced regularly and we have had nothing but positive experiences for the last fifteen years. Now, that's a car!

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

SS

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (53)

Shin S.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (54) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (55)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (56)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (57)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (58)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (59)

05/13/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (60)Verified Review

Excellent. Run like a new with more than 270k miles

Just excellent. Still drive like a new having more 270k miles. Camry is worth the money. Three of our kids used this car to practice driving. I have never had any major issues. I have just changed oil every three month and had scheduled maintenance for years.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

BD

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (61)

BRENDA D.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (62) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (63)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (64)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (65)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (66)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (67)

02/27/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (68)Verified Review

Wonderful car!

I love my Camry! It is my second one and they are great, reliable vehicles! Just keep up on basic service and they last forever. Barely any rust also!!!! I still get 30 miles to the gallon of gas!!!!!!

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

(Video) *SOLD* 2006 Toyota Camry XLE V6 Walkaround, Start up, Tour and Overview

JG

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (69)

JUAN G.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (70) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (71)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (72)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (73)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (74)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (75)

01/30/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (76)Verified Review

LET'S GO PLACES

What more can i say, other than the fact this is a long lasting vehicle that's name holds weight. Toyota's are built to last and my Toyota Camry is a testament to that. Clocking in a 27+k mileages this bad boy has an engine that'll take me places. Albeit that these engine models did need some maintenance due to the piston heads needing to be replaced causing the burning of oil, it's still a fix that makes it a keeper. I bought this bad boy for dirt cheap but i can tell that this car has made more money in a year for me that i could ever dream of. I honestly most definitely bought my car 4 to 5 times over with how I've been working hard. I'm grateful that most of the work done to this oldie isn't that crazy and could even be done by myself, which i have actually. I'm telling Toyota makes really good cars and think everybody should own at least one Yota in their lifetime. Because the second i turn that key 🔑 and hear that engine purr on boyyyy i know it's go time!

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

KW

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (77)

Kathy W.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (78) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (79)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (80)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (81)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (82)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (83)

01/14/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (84)Verified Review

2005 Toyota Camry

Best vehicle that I've owned that is why I'm still driving it after 15 years. I would purchase another one if the road noise wasn't bad and the comfort inside was better. The price for this vehicle is important also.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

JK

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (85)

JOHN K.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (86) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (87)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (88)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (89)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (90)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (91)

01/14/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (92)Verified Review

A long-lived, reliable fun to drive car.

We have had it for a while. bough† it when we retired and said it would be our last car. It is sure proving to be that. And btw we think the front style of the new ones is ugly. But some of the new features, like lane assist would be useful.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

    (Video) Avoid These Toyotas Like the Plague

HB

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (93)

HELENE B.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (94) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (95)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (96)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (97)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (98)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (99)

01/04/2021

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (100)Verified Review

Reliable

My car is 15.5 years old and is very reliable and I feel very safe when driving it. It has not given me any trouble since I bought it. I plan to keep it for a few more years and purchase another Toyota Camry.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

AW

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (101)

ALETA W.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (102) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (103)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (104)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (105)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (106)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (107)

09/18/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (108)Verified Review

Still going strong!

My 2005 Camry is still going strong with almost 265,000 miles. I have always done the proper maintenance when needed and a huge thanks to Family Automotive for their part in keeping on top of keeping my car in excellent working order!

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

DB

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (109)

DEBBIE B.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (110) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (111)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (112)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (113)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (114)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (115)

08/18/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (116)Verified Review

Love my Toyota

I had the option of purchasing a brand new car, but am just not ready to give up my 2005. It is in such excellent condition and after replacing the struts, it feels like a brand new ride! I have been a Toyota purchaser for 30+ years.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

MN

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (117)

MASAHIRO N.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (118) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (119)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (120)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (121)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (122)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (123)

07/02/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (124)Verified Review

Toyota quality Long lusting

Hahaha that’s Toyota quality,that’s it.Anyway she runs more than 16 years with me, and make my life every time every where. My plan is 2 more year running together I hope.Anyway Camry is tough than looks like.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

    (Video) Best and Worst Used Toyota's to buy and Toyota Buying Advice

BH

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (125)

ben h.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (126) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (127)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (128)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (129)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (130)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (131)

06/10/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (132)Verified Review

Great Vehicle

Bought new , from the showroom floor , Oct 2004 & it has served us very well . It has had a few issues in the last 15+ years . Still gets 26-32 mpg , same as when new .Again , GREAT VEHICLE...........

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

SH

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (133)

SHIRLEY H.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (134) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (135)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (136)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (137)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (138)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (139)

05/30/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (140)Verified Review

Very reliable

I have this car since 2017 and I really like driving it. It is fuel efficient, and also roomy for me and my kids. I bought this car second hand and so far it has been very efficient for work and to pick up my kids from school. The car runs on a daily bases and not given a lot of problems. The normal for a used car.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

NL

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (141)

NORRIS L.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (142) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (143)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (144)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (145)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (146)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (147)

04/14/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (148)Verified Review

Toyota Camray 2005

Great car. I have suffered no problems except minor problems except when a car rammed into the back of at a red light several years ago. I do not want another car now even though the car is 15 years old. It still appears and operates like new.

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

BS

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (149)

BRUCE S.

2005 Toyota Camry

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (150) Verified Owner

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (151)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (152)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (153)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (154)2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (155)

03/29/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Reviews - Verified Owners (156)Verified Review

Great car

Still getting 42 mpg on long trips. This is your basic car but reliable and easy to maintain. Home mechanics can still do most of the work on this car for most of the basic needs.This gas been a great used car for work and still get 32-33 mpg in regular driving

Recommended

    Value

    Build Quality

    Reliability

    Exterior

    Interior

    Features

    Fun

    Performance

    Comfort

    Styling

    (Video) 2006 Toyota Camry LE 2.4 L 4-Cylinder Review | Camerons Car Reviews

FAQs

How many miles will a 2005 Toyota Camry last? ›

You may also wonder how many miles can a Toyota Camry last? A survey from Consumer Reports has stated that, with proper care, the Toyota Camry can last more than 200,000 miles.

What year Camry has the least problems? ›

The most reliable Camry models might denote the model years that the vehicle received the nod as the most dependable vehicle in its category (midsize sedans). Currently, four model years rank as the most dependable: 2016, 2014, 2011 and 2006.

Is 2005 a good year for Camry? ›

Is the 2005 Toyota Camry a Good Used Car? Yes, 2005 is a good year. Owner's praise the Camry's durability, affordable ownership costs, and comfort. Reliability ratings are great.

What is the most reliable year of Camry? ›

Here's The Short Answer To What The Best And Worst Years For The Toyota Camry Are:
  • The best Toyota Camry model years are 2023, 2022, 2021, 2017, 2016, 2013, 2006, and 2001. ...
  • The 2018 Camry had a total of 83 complaints at CarComplaints.com and 715 problems at CarProblemZoo.com.
30 Sept 2022

Does a 2005 Toyota Camry have a timing belt or chain? ›

A 2005 Toyota Camry doesn't have a timing belt—it has a timing chain. Timing belts and timing chains perform the exact same function, which is to keep your camshaft and crankshaft synchronized to make the engine work quietly and efficiently.

When should the timing belt be replaced on a 2005 Toyota Camry? ›

Start thinking about changing the timing belt once you cross the 90,000-mile threshold.

What year Camry has engine problems? ›

2008 Toyota Camry

Drivers noted similar transmission issues and noticed that the check engine light often caused problems. Some of the more prominent issues with the 2008 model came after the car reached 100,000 miles, where the ignition coil would start to fail.

What are the best used Toyota Camry years? ›

According to these reliability tests, the top Toyota Camry models to buy used are the 2021, 2017, 2011, and 2009 model years. These four Toyota Camry model years have near-perfect scores in every category when it comes to reliability over time.

Which Camry engine is most reliable? ›

Also, on J.D. Power, the '16 Camry was ranked number 1 in “Midsize Car”. They also gave it a perfect 5 star rating in reliability and an 86/100 overall score. Besides all of that, it got a massive 89 out of 100 score in quality and reliability.

What are common problems for 2005 Toyota Camry? ›

Compared to other Midsize Cars
  • 7.4% 6.7% Tire Problem Uneven Wear. 7.4% of 2005 Toyota Camry owners surveyed reported this issue. ...
  • 7.2% 8.8% Wind Noise. ...
  • 4.1% 3.8% Radio Won't Stay On Station/Poor Reception. ...
  • 3.9% 5.2% Vehicle Pulls. ...
  • 3.5% 2.8% Automatic Transmission Shifts Roughly.

Are there any recalls on a 2005 Camry? ›

There are 5 recalls on this vehicle.

Is buying a used Camry a good idea? ›

A reliable and affordable car, the Camry lasts a very long time and is a hot offering in the used market. Toyota Camry sits among the best cars any person could buy, whether it is new or used. Camry's are very much seen by many as a great first car and that's for a good reason.

Which is better Corolla or Camry? ›

With Toyota Camry vs. Toyota Corolla reliability, dependability backs both sedans. They stand at the top of their class; J.D. Power gave the 2022 Toyota Corolla a "Great" quality and reliability score of 85 out of 1004 and handed the 2022 Toyota Camry a "Great" quality and reliability score of 84 out of 1005.

What generation Camry is the best? ›

With a pocket-friendly price, nearly all models of the Toyota Camry are respectable. However, the 2013 to 2015 models are proven to be most reliable by statistics and user reviews.

What is the cost to replace timing chain? ›

Timing chain replacement can cost between $600 and $800 for a DIY repair, or between $1,600 and $1,800 with a mechanic. The cost is high due to the complicated nature of replacing this part. If you want to DIY a timing chain replacement, the parts will cost around $650.

How often should you change your oil in a 2005 Toyota Camry? ›

Toyota recommends that you have your oil changed every 10,000 miles, but to continue with the 5,000-mile service intervals for fluid top offs, inspections, and tire rotations.

Does Camry timing chain need to be replaced? ›

Timing belts must be replaced on a regular basis, but timing chains do not. There's no reason to alter the timing chain unless it's damaged, strained, or otherwise affected. If there is a problem with the timing chain, your car will most likely have one or more issues.

What happens if a timing belt breaks on a Toyota? ›

Some Toyota engines are freewheeling, which means that the piston and the valves never occupy the same space in the cylinders. If a timing belt breaks in a freewheeling engine, the engine will simply stop running.

How much does it cost to replace a timing belt on a Toyota Camry? ›

The average cost for a Toyota Camry timing belt replacement is between $498 and $778. Labor costs are estimated between $276 and $348 while parts are priced between $222 and $429.

What years did Toyota have oil consumption problems? ›

The Toyota brand is known for reliability and dependability. However, reports have shown that some selected Toyota models manufactured from 2006 to 2011 were plagued with excessive engine oil consumption, consuming a quart of oil every 1,000 to 1,500 miles on average.

Which engine is best for Toyota Camry? ›

The 3.5L V6 is the best Toyota Camry engine you can get, period. It has been widely available in nearly every car, truck, and SUV made by the Toyota and Lexus since 2002, and still holds the “premium” title across the current Camry lineup, offered in just a handful of trims.

What year Toyota Camry has a recall? ›

Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2018-2019 4Runner, 2019-2020 Avalon, 2019 Corolla Hatchback, 2017-2019 Highlander, 2018-2020 Camry, 2020 Corolla, 2018-2019 Land Cruiser, 2017-2020 Tacoma, 2019-2020 RAV4, 2019-2020 Sequoia, 2017-2020 Sienna, 2019-2020 Tundra, 2018-2020 Lexus ES350, ...

Which Toyota engine is most reliable? ›

The 3 Best Toyota Engines You Can Buy
  1. 1 – The 2GR-FKS 3.5L V6. The Toyota GR series V6 engines are legendary. ...
  2. 2 – The 2.5L A25A-FXS. ...
  3. 3 – The V35A-FTS.
10 Dec 2021

Which is better Accord or Camry? ›

2022 Honda Accord LX vs 2022 Toyota Camry LE

The Accord LX delivers greater passenger volume and cargo volume than the smaller Camry LE. Those riding up front will enjoy more headroom, legroom, and shoulder room. Rear-seat passengers also have more second-row legroom and shoulder room.

What is high mileage for a Toyota Camry? ›

The Toyota Camry is one of the most well-regarded midsize vehicles available, and its Toyota durability means that you can expect to get between 200,000 and 300,000 miles of use out of your Camry with proper vehicle maintenance.

Which is better 4 or 6 cylinder Camry? ›

While the turbo-four has lower power and torque than the V6, it has better fuel economy. Depending on the model and drivetrain, the 2.5L four-cylinder can get up to 28/39/32 mpg. The V6 tops out at 22/31/25 mpg.

What is the longest lasting Toyota Camry? ›

The Most Reliable Toyota Camry Years, According to Consumer Reports
  • 2005 Toyota Camry. 2005 Toyota Camry | Wikimedia Commons. The 2005 Camry is one of the best used cars under $5,000. ...
  • 2009-2011 Toyota Camry. 2011 Toyota Camry | Wikimedia Commons. ...
  • 2012-2017 Toyota Camry. A pair of 2017 Toyota Camry sedans | Toyota.
5 May 2022

Which is better Camry V6 or 4 cylinder? ›

They are both good engines. If you want top fuel economy the 4 cylinder one gets better gas mileage. If you want lots of power, the 6. Only you can decide which way to go with the 2–4 MPG difference.

How long do Toyota Camry engines last? ›

With this being said, the lifespan of a Toyota Camry is between 200,000 and 300,000 miles depending on how well it is maintained.

Is Toyota Camry more reliable? ›

The Toyota Camry is very reliable and ranks near the top when compared with other midsize cars on the market. They can last for 200,000 to 300,000 miles without too many issues as long as you take care to perform the proper maintenance on your car.

Is Toyota Camry a reliable car? ›

The 2022 Toyota Camry has a predicted reliability score of 84 out of 100.

How much does it cost to replace a transmission in a 2005 Toyota Camry? ›

A Toyota Camry transmission replacement cost is typically between $5,130 and $5,528, but the exact amount you'll need to pay will depend on your location and the extent of the damage to the transmission.

CAN 2005 Camry use synthetic oil? ›

The 2005 Toyota Camry needs SAE 5W-30 grade synthetic engine oil. This is one of the most common types of engine oil, so you can find it at most auto parts stores. You might even be able to find it at a gas station. It's really important to purchase specifically 5W-30 oil for your Camry.

Does a 2005 Toyota Camry have a transmission filter? ›

2005 Toyota Camry Transmission Filter (A/T) - from $24.49+ | AutoZone.com.

What should I know before buying a Toyota Camry? ›

The 5 Things You Need to Know Before Buying a 2022 Toyota Camry
  • Skip the base model Toyota Camry and go for the SE trim.
  • Make sure to include features like a heated steering wheel for cold climates.
  • Don't buy the Camry TRD thinking you're getting a sports sedan bargain.
12 Jan 2022

What are the pros and cons of a Toyota Camry? ›

To begin this guide on the Toyota Camry's pros and cons, let's start with the car's positive qualities.
  • Legendary Reliability. ...
  • Good Powertrain Selection. ...
  • Eye-Catching Style. ...
  • Excellent Fuel Economy. ...
  • Top Marks for Safety Features. ...
  • Noisy Cabin. ...
  • Smaller Trunk. ...
  • Not the Most Engaging Drive.
27 Jun 2022

Are Camry expensive to maintain? ›

A Toyota Camry will cost about $4,203 for maintenance and repairs during its first 10 years of service. This beats the industry average for popular sedan models by $2,893. There is also a 11.89% chance that a Camry will require a major repair during that time.

Where does the Toyota Camry rank? ›

The 2023 Toyota Camry's #3 ranking is based on its score within the Midsize Cars category.

Why is Toyota Camry so good? ›

Safety, Support, And Staggering Prices Make Up The Perfect Commuter Car. The 2021 Toyota Camry has a five-star overall crash-test rating from the NHTSA and it includes cool features such as pre-collision system with pedestrian detection, automatic high beams, and a four-wheel anti-lock brake system.

What is better the Sonata or the Camry? ›

Sonata: Strengths Comparison. Camry Benefits: Better driving dynamics; optional all-wheel drive; resale value. Sonata Benefits: Larger interior dimensions; warranty; less expensive for top trims.

Do Toyota Camrys have transmission issues? ›

Just like most vehicles out on the market today, the Camry isn't spared from transmission-related problems. Some of the issues reported Include transmission slipping, gear shifting issues, and delayed engagement. These transmission problems may vary per model year.

How long does a Toyota Camry transmission last? ›

How Long Do the Transmissions Last? Your Toyota Camry transmission should last up to 100,000 miles or more. However, this depends on how often you maintain it.

What is the best year used Toyota Camry to buy? ›

According to these reliability tests, the top Toyota Camry models to buy used are the 2021, 2017, 2011, and 2009 model years. These four Toyota Camry model years have near-perfect scores in every category when it comes to reliability over time.

How many miles should a 2005 used car have? ›

As a general rule, you should assume that the average car owner puts 12,000 miles on a car each year. To determine whether a car has reasonable mileage, you can simply multiply 12,000 by its age. That means good mileage for a car that's 5 years old is 60,000.

What is considered high mileage for a Toyota? ›

What is considered high-mileage? Typically, putting 13,000 to 14,000 miles on your car per year is viewed as “average.” A car that is driven more than that is considered high-mileage. With proper maintenance, cars can have a life expectancy of about 200,000 miles.

Why do Toyota Camrys last so long? ›

The Bottom Line. Toyota vehicles have exceptional longevity and some of the most reliable engines in the industry. This is due to the company's meticulous approach to design and production. The quality management systems ensure any defects are detected and eliminated before the vehicle is sold to the customer.

What's more important mileage or age? ›

Reliability fades with age

Even when mileage is low, the older a car gets, the less reliable it becomes. Modern cars are much more reliable, even as they age. Five-year-old cars record what is considered a major problem every three years, while 10-year-old cars are more likely to face a problem every 18 to 20 months.

What mileage is too high for a used car? ›

What is considered high mileage on a car? Often, 100,000 miles is considered a cut-off point for used cars because older vehicles often start requiring more expensive and frequent maintenance when mileage exceeds 100,000.

How many miles should a 20 year old car have? ›

At a Glance: As a rule of thumb, a used car should have no more than 12,000 miles for each year since the car was originally bought.

What year did Toyota Camry have problems? ›

2001 Toyota Camry reliability: 3 out of 5

This Camry year experienced both major and minor engine problems, fuel system issues, and problems with the climate system, suspension, brakes, paint and trim, and the in-car electronics. The 2001 Camry was very unreliable—avoid it at all costs.

Can a Toyota Camry last 300000 miles? ›

The Toyota Camry is one of the most well-regarded midsize vehicles available, and its Toyota durability means that you can expect to get between 200,000 and 300,000 miles of use out of your Camry with proper vehicle maintenance.

How long will a Toyota transmission last? ›

Some transmissions can last just over 10,000 miles, while others will last over 200,000 miles. Generally though, regular vehicle maintenance is the number one factor effecting a transmission's lifespan, and good upkeep can help it last even longer.

Can a car last 500000 miles? ›

Depending on how well you treat your car, you could potentially reach over 500,000 miles. In fact, there's a driver whose car reached even more than that.

Which model of Toyota lasts the longest? ›

Topping that list is the Toyota Sequoia, which has a potential lifespan of 296,509 miles, according to a new study from iSeeCars.com. The automotive research website analyzed more than 2 million cars to determine which last longest and found that 20 models are able to endure for more than 200,000 miles.

Videos

1. TOYOTA CAMRY HYBRID: WHY, PAIN, any LOVE left? Real owner review after 2 years
(Guepard Motors)
2. 2007-2009 Toyota Camry Buying Guide
(The Car Care Nut)
3. TOYOTA OWNERS! Please NEVER Do THIS to Your Toyota!
(The Car Care Nut)
4. Toyota Camry Major Oil Leak
(briansmobile1)
5. SOLD 2005 Toyota Camry 4dr Sdn Cincinnati Ohio
(LandenMotorsTV)
6. 2005 Toyota Avalon XLS * 1-Owner * CLEAN CARFAX! - Epsom
(NewHampshireUsedAuto)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Foster Heidenreich CPA

Last Updated: 11/13/2022

Views: 6500

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (56 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Foster Heidenreich CPA

Birthday: 1995-01-14

Address: 55021 Usha Garden, North Larisa, DE 19209

Phone: +6812240846623

Job: Corporate Healthcare Strategist

Hobby: Singing, Listening to music, Rafting, LARPing, Gardening, Quilting, Rappelling

Introduction: My name is Foster Heidenreich CPA, I am a delightful, quaint, glorious, quaint, faithful, enchanting, fine person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.