The World Series of Screenwriting screenplay competition recognizes and awards excellence in a variety of competition categories, genres and formats.

You may enter your script in any category you choose. The price of the first category is included in your entry fee.  You may also choose to submit your script into multiple competition categories for a small additional fee.

Each year, we award prizes in these thirteen categories:

Feature Film Scripts (70-120 pages)

Action / Adenture

All types of action scripts, war stories, westerns, and adventure tales.


Light and dark comedies, romantic comedies, farces, spoofs, satires.


All types of dramatic stories, dramedies, romances, and tragedies.

Family Film

Live-action and animated children’s tales, fantasies, movies for all ages.

Historical / Biographical

Scripts based on true historical characters and events, biopics, docudramas.

Science Fiction

Stories about time and space travel, extraterrestrials, post-apocalyptic and alien worlds.

Thiller / Horror

Murder mysteries, crime stories, psychological thrillers, ghost tales, monster movies.

Short Film Scripts (under 70 pages)

 Live-action and animated short film scripts of all genres.

Orginal TV Pilots (20-80 pages)

TV Drama Pilot

Pilot episodes for original one-hour drama series.

TV Sitcom Pilot

 Pilot episodes for original half-hour comedy series.

Spec Scripts

Spec scripts for existing television series.

Stage Plays

Plays written for the stage.

Treatments / Concepts (1-10 pages)

Treatments, concepts, and synopses for any film or television project of any genre.

Sorry, we do not accept Novels or Short Stories.

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest inside news on special events and offers.



World Series of Screenwriting. All rights reserved.